Random Thanksgiving

Andi’s Very First Thanksgiving™ (as a hostess) will go down in six days. I’m not ashamed to admit I’ve been OBSESSING over it in a rather unhealthy (and probably boring) way. My apologies to everyone who’s put up with my yammering on about it (hehe…yam). The whole process is really entertaining for me, as I love reading about food and selecting my menu has been an ongoing creative process I’ve really enjoyed. Thus, I talk about it way too much. To that end, after the jump, is my Thanksgiving Menu. I’ve decided to do Traditional Thanksgiving™ this year – have to learn to walk before you can run. Or something like that.

I’d also like to mention I’ve ordered a box of Thanksgiving themed produce from Moore Farms and Friends. Potatoes, Sweet Potatoes, Green Beans, Apples, Pecans, Oranges, Cranberries and more. All local, all organic. Does it get than using farm fresh produce for your Thanksgiving feast while also supporting local agriculture? I think not.

Thanksgiving Menu

Appetizers

Crudités

Endive, carrots, bell pepper, cucumber, radishes, sugar snap peas

Green Goddess dip

Cheese plate

Manchego, Humboldt Fog Goat’s Milk Cheese, Point Reyes Blue

Spiced pecans, membrillo, date and walnut cake, honey, bread and crackers

Citrus-Marinated Olives

Smoked Salmon Wrapped Cucumber

DINNER

AMUSE

Vanilla Mashed Sweet Potato Cream Puffs*

FIRST COURSE

Roasted Sweet potato soup topped with celery leaves

SALAD COURSE
Spinach with dried cranberries, walnuts and goat cheese

Cranberry Vinaigrette

ENTRÉE

Greenberg Smoked Turkey

SIDE DISHES

Gravy

Buttermilk Mashed Potatoes

Roasted Green Beans with Onions and Walnuts

Oyster Casserole

Cranberry Sauce

Whiskey Glazed Carrots

Mom’s Dressing

Dinner Rolls

INTERMEZZO

Cranberry Sorbet

Desserts

Pumpkin Ice Cream

Fleur de sel caramel sauce

Pecan Torts

Whiskey whipped cream

Traditional Pumpkin Pie

Maple whipped cream

Drinks

Ginger Pomegranate Champagne Cocktail
Pellegrino
Blackstone Sonoma Reserve Pinot Noir
La Crema Chardonnay
Sparkling Juices
Coffee

*Cream puff shell recipe from Cook’s Illustrated Baking Illustrated

3 Comments »

  1. Anonymous Said:

    Damn……….

  2. L-Dawg Said:

    I am duly (NOT dully!) impressed by your “traditional” Thanksgiving menu!

  3. andirandombits Said:

    L-Dawg, dully is acceptable as well – I just can’t seem to stop geeking out over this stuff. I clearly need help. Plus, remember this is aspirational – we’ll see what actually happens the day of (although I’m pretty on target with my prep schedule right now so fingers crossed)


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

