I get by with a little help from my friends

Truly, don’t we all?  Well, I need some help.  Suggestions, is more like it.  As I’ve mentioned a few times and will continue to mention ad nauseum until I actually go (and will be without regular internet access for TWO WHOLE WEEKS!!!  YES!!!!!!!!), I will be leaving at the end of the month for a two week odyssey in the BVI.

My plea to you – I need books – books to live!  Wait, no, that’s tungsten.  ANYWAY, please give me suggestions for good summer/beach reading – meaning no heavy historical biographies or anything like that.  Fun stuff that isn’t too fluffy nor too heavy – just right.  So, leave good book suggestions in the comments.  Doesn’t have to be recent, just anything enjoyable.  Much appreciated, y’all.

5 Comments »

  1. Beth Said:

    “Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers” by Mary Roach (or the sequel “Spook” if you don’t want gory, but c’mon, you’re Andi)
    “Good Omens” by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaimen
    “Everything Is Illuminated” by Jonathan Safran Foer (I feel guilty putting this one up since I haven’t gotten into my copy, but I swear I’ll finish it this summer)

    Don’t know if you’ve read any of these already, but I’d say those are fun readings that aren’t too fluff.

  2. andirandombits Said:

    I’ve actually read Stiff, and all the gory 🙂 But I will def check out Spook and the other suggestions. Muchas Gracias!

  3. Danny Said:

    Have you read Roald Dahl’s short stories? Not the ones for kids; the darker ones involving people being skinned alive so their tattoos can hang on the walls of art galleries, and the like. Check it out, they’re in his Omnibus. Also, how about Blink (by Malcolm Gladwell)? And I’m sure you’ve already read “Eats, Shoots, and Leaves,” right?

  4. andirandombits Said:

    Actually, it’s the other way around. I actually own the Omnibus (which is wickedly delightful) although I have not read Eats, Shoots, and Leaves. I probably should, since I know my grammar could use some tuning! Blink has been on the list, thank you for reminding me of it!

  5. Danny Said:

    Read Eats. I did it in Piedmont Park; people were stopping and watching me, I was laughing that much. Really.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

