Get ready for Cinco de Mayo!

Yeah, I know, it’s like two weeks away. But I wanted to share this fabulous margarita early enough so people could be sure to have the necessary ingredients on hand. Because there is nothing more tragic than not having a margarita on Cinco de Mayo. Because really, isn’t that what General Seguin and his forces were really fighting for at the Battle of Puebla*, the right to enjoy a delicious margarita and Mexican food?

I have found the secret to the perfect margarita and it is not lime salt (although that would be tasty.) No, it is agave nectar, a sweetener made from the same plant tequila is made from. It’s been touted as a more natural sugar (as opposed to refined white) and has sort of a health nut angle. Try to ignore that and just realize – it makes a kick ass margarita.

I ordered my agave nectar from Partida Tequila. I ordered two bottles and they were kind enough to send one free (which I gave to my parents to sample – I can thank my parents for my margarita addiction). I’m sure you can find agave nectar at Wholefoods or a farmer’s market or health food store, as well. Here is the recipe, adapted from Partida (which is conveniently printed on the back of the agave bottle).

2 ounces blanco tequila (I’m a recent blanco convert after years of good old Jose Cuervo anejo)

1.5 -2 ounces fresh lime juice – I suggest key limes, since they’re a bit sweeter and the Persian limes in the grocery store tend to have a slight bitterness – I usually can’t find key limes so I cheat and use this.

1 ounce agave nectar

1 ounce water

Shake with ice into a shaker. Pour into whatever glass you have handy, let’s not be picky about glassware here. The directions say not to use salt – I’m usually a fan of salt, but I have to agree – this margarita tends to be pretty balanced as to not require salt.

Obviously, you can adjust the quantities as needed. But I will say this recipe finally got J to drink my margaritas, after complaining my more tequila heavy concoctions tasted like “jet fuel.”

Enjoy! (responsibly, of course).

*a little bit of historical trivial – Cinco de Mayo is not Mexican Independence day, which is celebrated September 16. It is the celebration of the success of the aforementioned battle.

Leave a Reply

