Mineral Makeup

I love collecting little pots of makeup (like I’ve said before, I’m a hoarder of sorts).  I started using mineral makeup this past summer (thanks, L-Dawg), specifically Bare Minerals.  I recently found out that Bare Minerals contains bismuth oxychloride, which can cause problems in sensitive skin (not to mention the idea of it is sort of nasty).

I recently discovered Everyday Minerals and I’ll admit, it’s become an unhealthy obsession.  I check the site all the time for new kits and offers.  The best part?  (Practically) free sample of 3 foundations, 1 blush and 1 concealer (you pay shipping, which is $4).  Currently there are no limits on the number of sample kits you can order (although you can only order 1 sample per order) which is nice because you can try a wide variety of foundation colors before settling on the perfect one (or the perfect combination of foundations).  Everyday Minerals does not contain bismuth oxide and is much less expensive than Bare Minerals.  So far, I’ve really enjoyed their make up.  Of course, with any make up, one size does not fit all – there’s always the possibility of adverse reactions, especially with sensitive skin, so don’t come crying to me if it doesn’t work for you.  But hey, for $4, there’s no harm in trying, right?  Another bonus – they often have special offers, recently it was 10% off your order; from what I understand they run specials from the 1st of the month to the 14th so check back.  Also, I’ve found the kits are generally the best value, as opposed to ordering items separately.

Anyone who uses mineral makeup want to chime in?

2 Comments »

  1. Jenni Said:

    My Sample is on it’s way! The site seemed cool, and I am psyched that I can try different colors of blush that I would normally not want to risk paying $15 for. I can’t wait to try it, and I don’t think your blog is lame…

  2. andirandombits Said:

    Fabulous, I hope it works out for you! I’ve been really enjoying it. I think I’ve ordered like three samples by now!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

